Rob is a champion for safe communities and public safety. Rob has opposed efforts to defund the police or reduce penalties for those who assault law enforcement officers. As a former prosecutor, Rob served as chair of the Virginia Crime Commission and currently serves on the Criminal Laws Subcommittee in the House of Delegates. As Delegate, he has patroned new laws that:

  • Mandate jail for drunks who drive with children in the car (SB 1019Floor Amendment – 2003)
  • Crack down on repeat drunk- driving offenders and “super-drunk” drivers (HB 676– 2004, HB 667– 2004)
  • Allow judges to require drunk drivers to repay the medical and funeral expenses of their victims (HB 2008– 2003)
  • Increase penalties for those who sexually abuse the mentally infirm or physically helpless and who secretly videotape children (HB 660– 2004, HB 663 – 2004)
  • Expand availability of protective orders (HB 2063– 2011)
  • Require life sentences for adults who rape children (HB 973– 2012)
  • Apply truth in sentencing for child pornographers with multiple convictions (HB2269– 2013)
  • Increase penalties for those who place children into prostitution (HB 2040– 2015) (HB 235 – 2014)
  • Allow courts to enter orders for service dogs to accompany witnesses in criminal trials (HB 482– 2018)
  • Require all child pornography found during a criminal investigation to be included in the Child Pornography Registry (HB 1940– 2019)
  • Increase penalties for drunk drivers who cause serious bodily injuries to their victims. (HB1941– 2019)
  • Ensure and confirm collection of fingerprints from all felony and certain misdemeanor offenders (HB 2343– 2019)

Rob has been repeatedly recognized for his work:

  • MADD (Virginia) – 2004 “Outstanding Leadership”
  • National Transportation Safety Board – 2004 “State Safety Leadership Award”
  • MADD (Virginia) – 2005 “Outstanding Legislator Award”
  • Virginia Sheriffs’ Association – 2008 “Outstanding Legislative Service”
  • Virginia Association of Commonwealth’s Attorneys – 2011 “Champion of Justice”
  • Virginia State Police – 2019 “Legislator of the Year” Award